Playground Art

Swings, monkey bars, and slides, oh my!

I don’t know about you, but as a thirty-something adult, I still get excited at the prospect of hopping on a swing and flying through the air. The memories of childhood come flooding back, and I get the biggest grin on my face.

But have you ever looked beyond the spiral slide or the metal monkey bars? Have you ever seen something more than the physical structures?

When you set foot on any playground, you’re immediately met with vibrant colors. Rich hues of blue, red, yellow, green, and purple. It’s like looking at a rainbow.

So when I was tasked with completing a color assignment for my advanced photography class, I immediately thought of those playground structures.

At first glance, a teeter totter looks like, well, a teeter totter. But what if you look closer? What do you see?

I realized that I could see new images within these structures. Brand new pieces of art. Playground art!

I also saw something very important while completing my assignment. Just as every child is unique, so are the images I was creating. At first glance you may see one thing on the surface, but once you look a little deeper, you can see something completely different. Something fresh. Something new. Something beautiful.

I encourage you to try to create your own playground art with your kids. See what you come up with. Everyone has their own perspective, and the possibilities are endless. You just have to see it and create it!

Playground Color Photo 1

Playground Color Photo2

Playground Color Photo3

Leave a Reply

